CR – Wednesday March 23, 2011 Day 12

March 24, 2011 at 12:34 am Leave a comment

Day 12

At breakfast I spoke with my mama tica about how I was feeling in class and she gave some great advice. She said that I should be patient and just relax. Whatever I learn, I learn and whatever I don’t, I don’t and not to stress out over it. She said that the way I am feeling is normal and is a feeling shared by many students. I know all of this but sometimes you just need to hear it again.

We got to school early today so I was able to speak to my professor. He basically said the same thing as Sonya but added that I should not compare myself with the other students who are all much younger than me.

It’s amazing to me how fast some of the students are picking up the spanish language. Lucas has only been studying Spanish for two months and he is already at Ginger’s level. Anika of Holland from last weeks class also demonstrated similar talent for learning Spanish. Even Akira from Japan is also picking up spanish rapidly.

My professor also said that this language acquisition ability is due in great part to the fact that most Europeans and Asians are multilingual. Being multilingual makes it much easier to acquire new languages rapidly. Basically he was saying, “Get over it.” I did and am now back on track.

Tomorrow night we’re going to San Jose and plan to visit the volcanos on Saturday.

That’s all for tonight.

Later

Entry filed under: Costa Rica.

CR – Tuesday March 22, 2011 Day 11 (Updated) CR – Thursday March 24, 2011 Day 13

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2011
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages